Thea Musgrave's music is published by Novello & Co. and Chester Music.

For more information and/or for publicity or media queries, please contact:

Thomas LeBrocq
Music Sales Group - London


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

A New Trumpet Concerto


A New Trumpet Concerto

Thomas Le Brocq

With the launch of the Cheltenham Music Festival programme earlier this month, we can now announce the details of a brand new Trumpet Concerto for Alison Balsom, written by Thea Musgrave.

Commissioned by the Cheltenham Music Festival, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, this five-movement work of around 18 minutes is based on a selection of striking paintings be the Scottish artist Victoria Crowe. Written for a Trumpet in C, this work will display the full emotive range of the instrument.

The premiere will take place on July 6 at the Cheltenham Town Hall, performed by the CBSO and their principal conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla. Its second performance will take place at the Birmingham Town Hall on October 2 before heading off to Hamburg for its German premiere. the piece will receive its US Premiere in LA in 2020 again performed by Balsom. 

Thea Musgrave was the first female composer to be commissioned by the Cheltenham Festival in 1956. The Trumpet Concerto has been co-commissioned by the CBSO in celebration of their centenary.


Saturday, July 6, 2019
7:00 PM  9:00 PM
Cheltenham Town Hall (map)

Ruth Gipps: 
Symphony No. 2
Musgrave: Trumpet Concerto (World Premiere)
Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Walton: Troilus and Cressida Suite

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, conductor
Alison Balsom, trumpet